I’m going to tell you a secret that very few people know: I’m not a very patient person.  I know, right? Shocked me, too. No, not really.  I knew that about me. Although I can hold my tongue in some cases, and I can breathe through certain things,  I have a few hot button issues that set me off like fireworks on Independence Day.

Because I realized it’s (past. WAY past) time I reigned in my impatience, anger, and fear, among a few other things, I began to think of  ways to help me relax and be the person I want to be again. The person more like what God wants me to be: kinder, gentler, more patient (there’s that word again!).

I do not consider myself an artist by any means but I do love to play with stamps, inks, paints, you name it. And I love to write. I’ve been writing off and on since at least the fifth grade. But for a long while now, I stopped both. Baby Bear needs me. The house desperately needs to be cleaned. We have to…. Well, you get the picture.  So when  my niece ended up in the hospital, I spent a lot of time with her. Hospitals are lonely places, y’all! Not fun to be there by yourself with only medical staff for company.  Hospitals are also boring, so I brought along a craft item or two. (Hubby said it looked like I was moving in.) And we played. We made bookmarks out of  inks, stamps, and washi tape on tags. It was fun!  And we watched videos of other people creating art.

My beautiful girl got better and was sent home. I continued watching videos of people creating. I was also looking high and low for my brayer because I wanted to play some more, this time with a gelli plate. I’m beginning to think Baby Bear did away with my brayer so that little project will have to wait.  And then… where there are suggestions of what to watch next, planners came up.

I have a messy, creative mind (and house ) but I crave order and organizations. Plus planners mean creativity and writing! Yay! And off I went, chasing another bunny.  I already have a planner, which I try to gussy up at times (it came with boring, office like paper. I’m not boring, office like kind of people. I’m sorry, but I need color!). Sad part is, not a lot of paper to do my planning on. I grabbed a notebook and kept the dates up in the planner and planned my days and dreams in the notebook, all the while drooling over planner set ups on Pinterest and Youtube. Then I saw the link for War planners.

War planners, Bible journals, Faith journals, all are basically the same thing. Can you see where this is going?  Off I went, hopping down the bunny trail! And that same poor notebook got another use. I wrote down scriptures that I wanted to look up, began keeping sermon notes in it, prayer lists, the whole bit. I’m loving it.

All of that rambling just to get to this one point. Today  I glanced at some War journaling notes and I had for some reason written down Psalm 46:5.  I wanted to look that up straight away. I’m not big on signs or stuff y’all, but I opened my Bible exactly to that page! There were no bookmarks there at all. It just happened. I had marked that whole Psalm in my bible before and I read it. All 11 verses. Three times.  I wrote down key verses in one section of my notebook and copied down the entire Psalm in another section.

God is our refuge and our strength, A very present help in trouble.  –Psalm 46:1

The Lord of hosts is with us, The God of Jacob is our refuge. — Psalm 46:7  and 46:11    Did you catch that?  That statement is so significant, it’s in that psalm twice.

Be still and know that I am God.– Psalm 46:10A.

Y’all, I needed this.  We have something going on at home and I am battling hard to trust and find wisdom and understanding so we can figure this thing out. I’d been having a good day for the most part up until this piece of news was presented to me. And like the patient person I am, I threw a fit. A good old fashioned hissy.  It wasn’t pretty. But I’m willing to learn from it.

I still don’t have an answer to our problem. I am calmer about it now though.  I know that the Lord is in control. That’s all I need to know right now. This is one of those learning times. I have a lesson or two being taught to me (can you guess what one of them is? LOL. I think that one is ongoing.) and with God we will get this.

How about you? Are you a patient person?  Or are you a hurricane Annie like I am, blowing all your energy out and then calming down for the solution? I’d love to hear from you.

 

B

 

 

Leave a Reply

